Welcome!

Welcome! Come on in! So glad you’re here!

The other day I had the fun opportunity to greet parents as they came in the doors of our church for “Meet Your Teachers Day” in preparation for the start of First Friends – our kids day-in/parents day-out ministry. Just as I said “welcome” to those parents and kids, I say “welcome” to each of you! Welcome to our new First Free Women’s Blog. How exciting! I am delighted that you are here.

At my home as I greet guests, I’ll tell them, “Make yourself comfortable!” Aren’t we all about comfort in our world today? I come home after a day at church and the first thing I do is put on my comfortable pair of shorts and a t-shirt. (Trust me. You will NOT see me at Wal-Mart or Target in this outfit!) After dinner, I am anxious to plop down in my comfy chair and put my feet up for a few minutes. And in the early morning, I look forward to opening my Bible and getting comfortable with a steaming cup of coffee in front of me. Ahhhhh comfort….

Author, speaker, and counselor, Elyse Fitzpatrick, has written a devotional book titled Comforts from the Cross: Celebrating the Gospel One Day at a Time. Comforts from the Cross. Isn’t that an oxymoron or something? (Don’t you love oxymoron’s btw? You know – jumbo shrimp, act naturally, and pretty ugly – but I digress.) Let’s think about it. Wouldn’t you agree that the cross is the opposite of comfortable? The cross – that horrendous, torturous means of execution that the Beautiful Savior hung upon, dying an excruciating death for the sins of the world. Come on – comfort? But that is exactly where the comfort comes from – knowing our sins have been forgiven and that we’ve been redeemed by the sinless Christ. Knowing our sin and guilt have been dealt with because Jesus took God’s wrath upon Himself for us for all eternity. There is no greater comfort than that.

Because of the cross, I don’t have to squirm and wonder with fear what death holds for me. I know. I possess eternal life now.

Because of the comfort of the cross, I don’t have to wonder how I will ever learn to love and obey my Savior. I know. He has provided the indwelling Holy Spirit who gives me power to live a life worthy of His calling.

Because of His comfort, I don’t have to wonder if I will one day wake up to discover that God has changed His mind about me because of something I did the day before to anger Him. No, I know because of the comfort of the cross that His mercies are new every morning and His grace abounds to me each and every day. I know that I am His. Ahhhhh comfort…

We pray that this new blog will help First Free Women and anyone else who happens to stop by, a place to find help and hope, a place to find encouragement and enlightenment through God’s Word, and a place to derive true comfort as we reflect on the cross of Christ and the good news of the Gospel.

Welcome. Come on in. Make yourself comfortable.

Jo Coltrain, Director of Women’s Ministry

Leave a Reply

