The Story of the Mocha Coffee Coffee Cake with Espresso Glaze

It started with an enticing invitation.

Mocha Coffee Coffee Cake with Espresso Glaze.

 Need I explain further the sugary desires those words brought to my mind? I think not.

My husband loves coffee. He loves sweets. And so I knew that if this combination of coffee and sweetness was combined, he would surely enjoy the divine.

Therefore, I baked. This was the result:

This photo does not quite explain to you the magnitude of the mess. You see, I have a small kitchen. This is literally the only counter I have. I measured my counter today and the space I have to work with is exactly 47” long. This is not much, my friends.

And so, when one makes, or bakes, or creates, a very truly unruly mess results. And after the batter is mixed, and poured, and carefully placed into the oven, there is something very, clearly, obviously, messy to clean up.

I worked all afternoon to make one large cake and one regular size cake. Because, you see, I tripled the recipe.

This is what I got:

Aaahhhh. Lovely.

I made the glaze, which, of course, required more bowls and more measuring spoons and the like. And, this is what I got:

Aaahhh. So lovely. So beautiful. So magnificent.

This didn’t change the fact that I had a huge mess in the kitchen. Of which, I might add, because of the size of my counter space and small kitchen sink, took me at least the next week to catch up before I saw a clear and shiny countertop. But, alas, that is another story for another day…

Today’s story, is one of Mocha Coffee Coffee Cake with Espresso Glaze. Because Mocha Coffee Coffee Cake with Espresso Glaze isn’t something to keep for oneself, I quickly, firmly, and resolutely decided.

Aaahh. So tasty. So very moist. So very smell-goody-goody-goodiness. So, so…captivating.

And, since Mocha Coffee Coffee Cake with Espresso Glaze isn’t something to keep for oneself, it had to be shared.

One for the hubby to take to work:

A few slices to give to the neighbor:

A couple slices to send to the wee one’s teachers at school:

Some to share with a beloved friend at our home:

And lots to share with beloved friends at their home:

Yes. Worthy to share.

It all started with an enticing invitation…an invitation that I accepted, loved, adored, persevered through, kept my focus on the prize through, and couldn’t stop myself from sharing.

Who are you sharing your invitation with? There are some souls out there, just waiting to be captivated! For…

“God saves men for whom we pray. Try it.”

and…

“Oh, why do we not pray for our unconverted friends? They may not listen to us when we plead with them, but they cannot hold out if we pray for them. Let two or three agree in prayer over the salvation of the worst, and then see what God will do! Tell God, and then trust God.”

from The Kneeling Christian

And…they don’t know it. But I’m “trying it” out on them. O, Lord, increase my trust and belief in You and Your Word, and O Lord, Most Holy God, I ask that those names lifted up before you, might be led forth in peace and break out in song before you!

Isaiah 55:10-12

For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven
and do not return there but water the earth,
making it bring forth and sprout,
giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater,
so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth;
it shall not return to me empty,
but it shall accomplish that which I purpose,
and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.

For you shall go out in joy
and be led forth in peace;
the mountains and the hills before you
shall break forth into singing,
and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.

Here’s the recipe if you’d like to share with and pray for your friends, too. May God be delighted to share the purposes of His Word with you!

Mocha Coffee Coffee Cake with Espresso Glaze

adapted from The Gourmet Cookbook by Joy the Baker

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) unsalted butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup sour cream

2 Tablespoons cocoa powder dissolved in 1 1/2 Tablespoons hot water

2 Tablespoons instant espresso powder dissolved in 1 Tablespoon hot water

For the Glaze

1 1/2 teaspoons instant espresso powder

2-3 Tablespoons strong brewed coffee

3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted

Make the Cake

Put a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F.  Generously butter and flour 8- inch (6 cup) Bundt pan.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl.

Combine butter and sugar in a large bowl and beat with an electric mixer at medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition, then beat in the vanilla.  Add flour mixture alternately with the sour cream, beginning and ending with flour mixture and mixing until just incorporated.

Transfer about one third of the batter to a small bowl.  Add espresso mixture and stir until combined.  Transfer 1/3 of the remaining vanilla batter to another small bowl and add the cocoa mixture and stir until combined.  Spoon all three batters into the Bundt pan, alternating so each flavor is distributed through the pan.

Bake until cake is golden, or until a wooden spoon inserted in the center comes out clean, 55 to 60 minutes.  Cool in pan on a rack for 30 minutes, then invert onto a rack to cool completely.

Make the Glaze

Stir together espresso powder and 2 tablespoons coffee in a bowl until powder is dissolved.  Add confectioners’ sugar and stir until well combined.  If glaze is not pourable, thin with remaining coffee if necessary.

Pour glaze over coffee cake and let cake stand until glaze is set, about 10 minutes, before serving.

(This recipe can be doubled and baked in a 10- inch (12 cup) Bundt pan.  Increase the baking time to about 1 hour.)

2 thoughts on “The Story of the Mocha Coffee Coffee Cake with Espresso Glaze

  1. Pingback: The Story of the Mocha Coffee Coffee Cake with Espresso Glaze « Called By Glory

  2. I look forward to reading more of your articles and posts in the future, so I’ve bookmarked your blog. When I see good quality content, I like to share it with others. So I’ve created a backlink to your site. Thank you!…

Leave a Reply

