Staff Highlight: Curt Romig

We are so grateful for our Pastor of Evangelism, Curt Romig! CurtRomigCheck out our “mini-interview” with him below. As a tool and resource for us, Pastor Curt has a couple of mission-focused and gospel-minded blogs going, check them out: http://www.allnations2414.blogspot.com/ and http://www.caring4thelost.blogspot.com/. We keep the links to this blog on our home page all the time, on the side bar. We’ll post a highlight or two from his blogs one of these days in the future! Thanks for your time, Pastor Curt!

1) You have a strong desire and heart to preach the gospel to every “tongue, tribe and nation.” What motivates your desire to serve the Lord wholeheartedly in this capacity?

My motivation comes first and foremost from Scripture.  When I was in high school and college, the Lord was stirring in my heart a compassion for the nations.  Pastor Dan Curnutt was my youth pastor, and God used him greatly to show me God’s heart for the world (and now we’re co-workers!).  I also took the Perspectives class on the World Christian Movement, and it opened my eyes to God’s plan for the world and how He is carrying it out.  It blew me away.  Then, in my own devotional times in the Bible, missions and evangelism and compassion verses were jumping off the page to me every day.  I couldn’t get away from them.  I never had a dream or vision telling me to go overseas or be involved in missions and evangelism.  The Bible is clear enough.  God has a plan to reach every people group on earth with the Gospel (Psalm 67, Rev. 7:9, Gen. 12:1-3), and he calls us to be a part (Matt. 28:19-20).  God has a heart for the lost and the poor (Luke 15, Proverbs 31:8-9).  May my motivation and yours flow from that!

Second, along with the first, I want people to be saved (I Cor. 9:22)!  I want Jesus to get the glory He deserves for what he has done (Rev 5:9)!  I want to share the joy of my salvation!  When I heard that there were places on earth with little to no Christian witness, it hurt.  Millions of people dying without knowing the Gospel?  I’m not ok with that.  Plus, even in Wichita, I’ve encountered plenty of people who really don’t know the Gospel.  I’m privileged to be here working with First Free to get the Gospel to people here and to people all over the world.  I love my current role.

Third, I enjoy other cultures.  Maybe I am weird in this, but I love getting stamps in my passport, learning other languages, and learning the different nuances of other cultures and all the fun stories that come from that.  I also like adventure.  As God’s workmanship (Eph. 2:10), I recognize that God made me in a way to like those things.  As such, I believe He called me to be heavily involved in overseas missions.

2) How has God increased your faith through this?

Seeing God’s work all over the world has increased my faith tremendously.  There are churches of people worshipping Jesus in so many interesting places.  It overjoyed me to worship Jesus in Spanish and Chinese in some of the most remote places on earth.  It humbles me to step out of my little world and realize how big God is all over the world.  It gives me proper perspective and leads me to worship God.

3) How can the women of First Free be praying for you?

I need God’s help as a husband and father.  I am often falling forward, meaning I learn through mistakes, so pray that God will lead me well in those roles.  As a pastor, pray that I would be effective in reaching out and motivating our body to be sharing the good news.  My hope is that more people in Wichita and the world will know Jesus, so just pray that God would use me for his purposes in that.

Leave a Reply

