Staff Highlight: Dan Curnutt

Pastor Dan Curnutt is First Free’s Pastor of Counseling and Missions. Today we hear him share of the many areas of faithful service he has given to his Lord and Master, Jesus Christ. Thank you, Pastor Dan, for your heart that pursues after God’s!DanCurnutt

1) You have invested in the lives of many, many individuals and families, for many years, unto God’s glory. Would you briefly share with us some of the ministry roles you have served in? What has motivated your desire to serve the Lord wholeheartedly in these capacities?

I worked with World Impact for 25 years full-time.  During that time I taught Bible Clubs with middle and high school students.  I taught Vocational Job Training Programs and help incorporate and run our Thrift Stores and Benevolence Funds.  I also had many administrative duties in the National Office.

I have been here at First Free since 1993.  I came originally as the Pastor of Administrations & Missions.  My task was making sure that the church’s business interests were taken care of, as well as Human Resources, Building and Maintenance and working closely with the Trustees.  I also taught the Sunday at Six service for six years.

Later I took a leave of absence for 20 months to go back and help World Impact get their Adult Conference Center up and running.  I came back to First Free to serve in the area of Evangelism and Missions.  Due to a staffing issue I then became the interim Youth Pastor, a position I held for six years. Those six years were some of my happiest here at First Free.  I now work with Counseling and Peacemaker Ministry as well as our Assimilation and Retention processes.  I have some oversight of Deacon’s and a new Hospitality Team that we are starting.

My desire to serve the Lord came at the age of twelve.  I was being mentored by our Pastor of our small church because I told him I wanted to be either a Missionary or a Pastor.  I gave myself to the Lord for His service.  I started serving Him at the age of 15 by volunteering to teach Bible Studies in the Inner City of Los Angeles.  I moved into the Inner City right after graduating High School and spent twenty three years living and working there.

Upon leaving World Impact I was blessed by the Lord to be able to serve as a pastor here at First Free.  Thus my two desires of being either a missionary or a pastor have been fulfilled.

Upon entering ministry I took three vows, one of poverty (i.e. not in ministry to make money) one of obedience and one chastity.  These are the three vows that early missionaries took.  God has been good to Karen and I over the years and I feel blessed to still be able to serve Him.
2) How has God increased your faith through this?

My faith has increased by the fact that through the years God has taken care of me.  When I started out in ministry I was paid $150.00 a month plus given a place to live.  Sometimes we didn’t have enough money at World Impact to even pay the salary of $150.00.  But we never missed having food on the table as God would faithfully provide through many different ways.

God has continued to strengthen Karen and I through the years as we have seen our son mature and grow into a Godly young man.  He has served overseas with missions and gone to Seminary and now serves full time in a Denominational Office and part-time as a Worship Pastor.

I have learned, sometimes the hard way, that God will take care of us if we will just lean on Him.

3) How can the women of First Free be praying for you?

For wisdom in my counseling and peacemaker ministry.  This is sometimes very difficult as you are dealing with people in times of crisis, conflict and major family turmoil.  I need Godly wisdom and good recall of scripture to be able to effectively help people.

Leave a Reply

