Sister Sojourner: Brenda Laird

One of the sweetest people you’ll ever meet is Brenda Laird. Her smiles are infectious and bring much joy! Take a peek into her life and heart below. Thank you, Brenda, for the abounding joy in the Lord that you share!!

For those of us who do not know  you:

How long have you attended First Free? 

I’ve been  attending First Free since September of 1994.

Tell us a little about  your family (spouse, children, siblings, parents, etc), where you grew up, and  what you “do” these days (work? ministry? hobbies? etc?).

I grew up around Lincoln KS where my dad farmed and my  mom stayed home with my 3 older sisters and me.   After high school I went to  Sterling College and got a degree in Business Administration.  Clayton & I have been married for 14  years and have 4 kids…Chloe will be 12 in May, Aubrey is 10, Isaac is 8 and  Phoebe just turned 2 in January.  I  worked in the business world for about 7 years before Chloe was born and after  that, being a wife and full time mom became my career.  Last fall I started working with First  Friends here at church doing their administrative work for a few hours each  week.  I’ve served in Awana in  several different clubs over the years and right now I’m the Sparks  secretary.  Clayton and I are  involved with First Watch ABF and I have enjoyed being a part of a Tuesday  Connection Bible study group for many years.  I like playing piano for fun, baking  when I have time, and enjoying a good movie with my husband.

Has there been a scripture  reference/verse/passage that God has used to impact your life in a significant  and lasting way? How and why did it speak to you so mightily? (this could  include something recent, or one of those life-changing “ah-ha” moments)

One of my favorite scripture passages is Philippians 4:6-8. 

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in  everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to  God.  And the peace of God which  transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ  Jesus.  Finally, brothers, whatever  is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is  lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think  about such things.”

These  verses always have encouraged me to give my concerns to God and to keep my mind  focused on things that would please him.  A friend of mine during my college days said something that has stayed  with me over the years as we were talking about things going on at that busy  time in our lives.  She told me “If  you have time to worry about it, then you have time to pray about it!”.  It has been a reminder to me  to replace my worry with a prayer of faith instead.  I can trust the one who was willing to die for  me, to take care of me in this life.

Leave a Reply

