i’m an alien

kingdom_6959cnMy daughter asked me what an ‘alien’ is recently. I told her it was a pretend creature that people made up to be in stories and books and such.

What I failed to tell her was that I am an alien; that she is; that daddy is. But after I had spoken to her I thought it. I didn’t quite think she’d get the whole “there are two kinds of aliens” discussion quite yet, so I let it be for now.

But it made me remember how I was with a friend the other day, and she reminded me that I was an alien here on earth, a stranger, and how I just won’t fit in a lot of the time. I’ll be uncomfortable. I’ll feel like I’m weird. I’ll seem to be different. I’ll often feel left out.

It was an intimidating thought, though I’ve known the truth of it all before. I’m an alien on this earth, a sojourner, my home is heaven, and I belong there. I know that. But sometimes I like to push things aside when I feel uncomfortable, you know? Just smile and nod and keep my feelings under wraps. And, this is often one of those things that makes me just a wee bit squeamish on the inside.

The irony of it is…I never want to be “just like” everybody else. Not that I’m this huge rebel or anything; I like to “fit in” somewhat. But it’s like, if everybody else is getting cats, I want to get a dog. If everybody else is eating jelly beans, I’d rather have a chocolate. If everybody else likes to wear preppy things, I’d rather be in my “skater” outfit (i.e. see my high school pics). If everybody else is proclaiming healthy food, I’m going to proclaim McDonald’s. If everybody is proclaiming McDonald’s, you betcha I’m going to be proclaiming healthy food. If everybody else wants to read this book, I’d really rather be reading something else, please.

And I don’t like clones. Cloning is so boring. I like a variety. I like to mix things up. I like to be around all ages, not just my own. I like traditions, and commonalities and such. But there’s just something about being around people who talk different, and dress different, and who just are different, that makes me smile on the inside. It’s probably why I like 1 Corinthians so much: the body of Christ is a mix of all types and sorts and gifts and talents…and I absolutely adore that.

And yet, despite all that, I still get in those modes of uncomfortableness if I’m looking or feeling just a little too different. A little too left out.

If someday you ever partner up with me for study, you will quickly learn that I love Greek words. I don’t actually know Greek, I can’t speak it, I don’t always remember it, and sometimes I am sure I get things a little mixed up. However, when I’ve got my Strong’s concordance by my side and my Bible in my hand…you can be sure that I am one happy girlie. Enter a sweet, teensy tiny lesson from 2 Peter 1:3-4.

His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us, to his own glory and excellence, by which he has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.

There are several truths to gather from this passage – beautiful, astounding truths, in fact!  But today, I have just one thing to point out. Look at the Greek word and definition of “nature”:

Nature (vs. 4): phusis

The sum of innate properties and powers by which one person differs from others, distinctive native peculiarities, natural characteristics. A mode of feeling and acting by which by long habit has become nature.

Whoa! Read it again. Because do you know what this is telling me, to us, who have obtained a righteousness by the righteousness of our God and Savior Jesus Christ? It tells me that He is making me look like a native of heaven.

A native! Well of all things! Not only am I an alien and stranger in this world, and not only to I belong to heaven…I’m a native of heaven. Because He is changing me, transforming me, making me distinctively different. The sin and corruption in this world has been my natural tendency, my place of feeling comfortable. But now, God is growing me in the knowledge of Himself, and as He is, I am changing. My natural tendencies, my natural inclinations, my habits and thoughts, the places I feel most comfortable, are maturing and becoming more like Christ through God’s divine power.

I just won’t fit in here. No, I just will not. fit. in. And if I do start fitting in, a little too much…perhaps I’ve neglected to find the astonishing promises of God for each of my days, that keep me from falling and cause my knowledge of Christ to be fruitful. Perhaps, if I start feeling a little too comfortable around here, I’ve forgotten the abundance of His mercy that has – astoundingly – miraculously – divinely – given me all things I need to experience more of His very own divine nature, in my very own self, in my very own life.

I am not of this world (duh, Jane!). I’m in the process of escaping it, for goodness sake! He is making me distinctively different. He is making me divine, just like Him. Piece by piece, stitch by stitch, thought by thought, habit by habit, He is transforming me into the likeness of His beautiful, glorious, joy-focused and joy-filled Son.

Aliens here – natives of heaven.

Perhaps this is part of the reason we were told last Sunday to meet together and worship together? Because the places we “natives of heaven” feel most comfortable, the places we feel like we most belong, simply don’t look the same as they once did. Do you ever need that reminder? I know I do.

A native. I have a home. There is a place where I fit in. Maybe that’s why it can sometimes be so uncomfortable to be so very “distinctly different” in this world? Because those who do not follow Christ are comfortable here. This is their home, they ‘like’ it here. But for me…my home…it’s not here. I’m uncomfortable here; I stick out, I stand out and I look and talk and think like an alien. But it’s ok. Because I am a native of somewhere. That somewhere is just somewhere else. And I’m ok with that.

I don’t want to be like everybody else, anyways, remember?

 

Leave a Reply

